Skip to content

The Tesco-Lecture

November 30, 2010

Some impressions of todays lecture. stay tuned for the video!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 12:38 am

    Hiya folks,
    Funnily enough I was in Tescos today when you came in for your lecture. I was at the clothes end but heard the commotion and the announcement for ‘all managers to aisle 8’. One of the store staff asked me what was going on. I didn’t know, sounded like the noise of someone being done for shoplifting especially when the security piled up there. Wish I had been quicker on my toes as I only caught the last few of you leaving with a few whoops.
    Shame as we could have had a debate about performance, protest and class politics, very fitting for the pretty solidly proletarian Tesco’s at OKR. Although I think performance and satire can be useful sometimes, I’m not sure in this instance that it really works. I think I would have had a few critical words to say about someone holding up a sign saying ‘wake up’ to me as I was out for a few tins of cat food and some bread. Do I need to wake up as I do these things? Not really. I feel pretty much awake to the reality of life in this capitalist system.
    I think your bank occupation was more useful than picking Tescos as it’s more likely to be seen as a decent sight of contestation and antagonism. But then problematically, these kind of lectures to the general public reinforce the role of lecturer and lectured too. Now, I’ve been lectured to enough times in my life now by ‘intellectuals’ thanks especially one who think they might enlighten me.
    Still, I appreciate that you are attempting to do something in these times. But I’m not sure it’s fully realised as yet. Less artyness, more bile. Go for the real targets and don’t assume us proles need to be enlightened.
    Just being honest with how I feel about it. Wishing you well for your next action

    • flashbank permalink*
      December 1, 2010 10:35 am

      Thank you for your important critique. There are some really important issues here that we’ll discuss as a group. The reason for targeting Tesco was an attempt to highlight, in light of the “Tesco degree” and “McDonalds degree” that are now on offer, the commodification of education. This message seems to have been lost in the spectacle. (In future we’ll be looking at locations where we can stay longer for a more engaged and open discussion.) We will definitely be talking about this issue, and the issues of hierarchy you’ve raised. If you’d like to join our meeting tonight in New Cross at 6pm e-mail us and we’ll let you know where!

      USO

Leave a Reply

